The Secret of Publishing a Google Site

During the creation of a collaborative Google Site, I discovered the “Publish to Specific People” setting. This share setting provides the ability to restrict a website with a chosen group of people instead of sharing it with the world. In an education setting, this provides the teacher with the power over privacy concerns.

Teachers have the control to share a collaborative website between two classrooms or small groups of students. Connecting classrooms is an easy method a teacher may use for nurturing young students with becoming respectful digital citizens. It also provides the opportunity to practice communication and collaborative skills along with creativity.

Publish to Specific People

Click Publish

  • Type a Website Name
  • Under “Who Can View My Site” click Manage

Type Name Click Manage

  • Add Specific People by typing name or email in box under “Invite People”

add email here

  • Click Edit Pencil to Select what the Specific People can do when visiting the site
    • Can Edit
    • Can View Publish

Can Edit or View.gif

Steps to Publish a Google Site

Click Manage

  • Choose one of the following:
    • Anyone can find and view the published version
    • Anyone at “Domain name” can find and view the published version
    • Specific people can view when published
  • Click Blue Publish Button

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s