Five Secrets About Google Drive, “Shared With Me”

The Google Drive “Shared with Me” section purpose is often misunderstood. The shared with me section of Google Drive is where both public and files shared with you are stored. Do not expect to organize the shared with me section for it is NOT possible. A best practice rule I like to share is to ignore the “Shared with Me” Section of Google Drive.

First:

  • If a friend shared the file or folder & you no longer want access just remove your name from the share settings, “Who has Access”.
    • Select a file or folder
    • Click Share icon
  • In bottom right of the “Share with others” window, click Advanced
    • Next to your name, click Delete 
    • Click Done

Second:

  • If a file or folders were added as a public link your name will not appear in the “Who has Access” Listing.

Third:

  • You may delete a file or folder from the shared with me section. It will not remove the file or folder for anyone else.

Fourth:

  • A Shared with Me File or Folder may be added to the “My Drive” section of Google Drive for organizational purposes.
    • Open drive.google.com.
    • On the left, click Shared with me.
    • Select the files or folders for adding to your drive.
    • In the top right, click Add to My Drive.
    • Click Organize.
    • Choose the folder to add the file to.
    • Click Move or Move here

Fifth:

  • You can view who owns the file by using the “View Details” Panel.
    • On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
    • On the left click My Drive.
    • Click File or Folder to highlight
    • In the upper right of Drive, click Info  (I)
    • Click Detail to discover info about the owner & location of the file or folder
    • Click Activity to view who made changes to the file or folder
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s