Privacy Is Up to You!!!

Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

“Is my Google Drive Private?” The very first file added to drive is the most secure until the sharing starts. What users may need to learn is maintaining the files’ privacy is totally up to them. The first place to start is by familiarizing oneself with the most basic of share settings. Please see my last post for refreshing your knowledge of basic share settings. The best way to secure your Google Drive files and folders is by combining the basics with the following advanced share settings.

Some of the features provided by the advanced settings are the ability to stop other users from re-sharing and printing a file. Another tool offered in Google Drive is the control to set time limits on sharing both folders and files. What does this all mean? Using advanced share tools help prevent sensitive material from being shared with the public. Please see my post: “CONTROL YOUR GOOGLE DRIVE FILES PRIVACY SHARE SETTINGS…” to learn how to use the advanced share setting features.

Think of the My Drive Section of Google Drive as your private area where you are in absolute control of the sharing. The Shared with Me area of Google Drive is a working area where files are shared by another user. Shared with Me portion of Google Drive is not considered as a portion of your storage area. It is a place where you may access and use files and folders shared with you. Generally, I recommend ignoring this area of the drive. Do note it is possible to remove files and folders from this section as well. The bottom line it is up to the user to maintain and keep Google Drive secure and private.

One thought on “Privacy Is Up to You!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.