Why “Shared with Me”???

I think one of the most misunderstood sections of Google Drive is the “Shared with Me” bin. Many people don’t understand why there is a shared with me bin in Google Drive. The shared with me section of the drive is where either public or shared with you files and folders are stored. Its function is to keep the shared files and folders separate from your private area (my drive) of Google Drive. It is up to the individual user if they want to add a “shared with me” file or folder shortcut to my drive section of Google Drive.

It is not unusual to hear Google Drive users say, “How do I organize the folders & files in the Shared with Me bin? The answer is simple the organizational ability is limited. Your choices for organizing the “Shared with Me” section is one of the following:

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Clicking on a Google Drive folder or file embedded on a website or blog is automatically stored in the “Shared with Me” bin of Google Drive. The reason this happens is to allow you to view the public file. Think about what it would be like to request access every time you found an embedded file or folder.

One thought on “Why “Shared with Me”???

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.