My Hero 2-Step Verification

Today two-step verification saved the day! 2-step verification is now my number one superhero. I was happy upon receiving a notification about one of my social media accounts. The hacker only got as far as the password. I immediately changed my password upon receiving the alert. Maintaining safety and privacy is a collaborative effort between the individual user and online businesses. So please think about safety first and consider setting up at least 2-step verification for your online accounts.

Secret Tips for Overlapping Google Docs Images

Overlapping images in a Google Doc isn’t hard at all. Today I’m going to provide you with some tips to take the struggle out of overlapping images. Overlapping images allows the creator to design attractive and more engaging visuals.

Following is a list of the most important tips to remember when working with images.

  • Set image to wrap text
  • Change margin to 0″
  • Use scroll arrows & shift key to move image in small increments

The below video explains the steps for overlapping images in a Google Doc.

Control your Google Drive Files Privacy Share Settings…

In today’s world, one often hears people focused on privacy concerns. Privacy concerns aren’t limited to the field of education. People from all walks of life are worried about maintaining privacy. Controlling your Google Drive Share Settings may help you maintain a safe cloud storage experience.

Google Drive provides some hidden share settings which support maintaining the utmost security levels. The first rule of thumb if a file, photo, or video is for “your eyes only” don’t share. Not sharing a file is the safest form of privacy. If you share a file beware of what “Public on the Web” or “Anyone with a link” means. When a file is public anyone in the world can search and find it. A file shared to anyone is open to the public too! The difference is the second method should not be searchable by search engine web crawlers. Now to learn about the some hidden share feature for securing your drive files.

Sometimes there may be a reason to share sensitive files. Google Drive files may be locked down by taking the following precautions. A file owner may prevent editors from sharing access. The file owner has control of printing, downloading, and copying. My favorite safety feature is “Set an Expiration Date.” Unfortunately for private users, the expiration feature appears only in G Suite Accounts.

Following are directions for using the above mentioned Google Drive safety features.

Prevent Editors from Sharing

  • Check Prevent Editors from Sharing
  • Click Blue Done Button

Stop Commenters & Viewers from Printing, Copying & Downloading

  • Open Google DriveDocsSheets, or Slides
  • Click File to Highlight
  • Click Share
  • Click Advance
  • Check Disable Options to Download, Print and Copy for Commenter and Viewers
  • Click Blue Done Button

Set File Expiration Date

As an Educator I found this setting useful when sharing files with a long term substitute. When the school year ended the files magically disappeared from the substitutes Google Drive. I believe this is one of those worthwhile timesaving tips.

Note this Google Drive Files
Feature ONLY WORKS with G Suite Accounts

  • Open Google DriveDocsSheets, or Slides
  • Click File to Highlight
  • Click Share
  • Click Advanced
  • Hover over the person’s name, click Set expiration
  • Set the Date
  • Click Save Changes
  • Click Blue Done Button

Back to the Basics Using Google Forms Sections

Sections is a Google Forms basic tool which I like using. I view a section as individual pages in a book. It allows the respondent to focus on answering a question with minimal distractions. Don’t be fooled by the simplicity of a section for they also contain a powerful punch. Following is a list of advance methods for applying Google Forms Sections:

  1. Self Study Quiz
  2. Choose your Own Adventure Story
  3. Collecting Specific data depending upon an answer

Five Secrets About Google Drive, “Shared With Me”

The Google Drive “Shared with Me” section purpose is often misunderstood. The shared with me section of Google Drive is where both public and files shared with you are stored. Do not expect to organize the shared with me section for it is NOT possible. A best practice rule I like to share is to ignore the “Shared with Me” Section of Google Drive.

First:

  • If a friend shared the file or folder & you no longer want access just remove your name from the share settings, “Who has Access”.
    • Select a file or folder
    • Click Share icon
  • In bottom right of the “Share with others” window, click Advanced
    • Next to your name, click Delete 
    • Click Done

Second:

  • If a file or folders were added as a public link your name will not appear in the “Who has Access” Listing.

Third:

  • You may delete a file or folder from the shared with me section. It will not remove the file or folder for anyone else.

Fourth:

  • A Shared with Me File or Folder may be added to the “My Drive” section of Google Drive for organizational purposes.
    • Open drive.google.com.
    • On the left, click Shared with me.
    • Select the files or folders for adding to your drive.
    • In the top right, click Add to My Drive.
    • Click Organize.
    • Choose the folder to add the file to.
    • Click Move or Move here

Fifth:

  • You can view who owns the file by using the “View Details” Panel.
    • On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
    • On the left click My Drive.
    • Click File or Folder to highlight
    • In the upper right of Drive, click Info  (I)
    • Click Detail to discover info about the owner & location of the file or folder
    • Click Activity to view who made changes to the file or folder