Control your Google Drive Files Privacy Share Settings…

In today’s world, one often hears people focused on privacy concerns. Privacy concerns aren’t limited to the field of education. People from all walks of life are worried about maintaining privacy. Controlling your Google Drive Share Settings may help you maintain a safe cloud storage experience.

Google Drive provides some hidden share settings which support maintaining the utmost security levels. The first rule of thumb if a file, photo, or video is for “your eyes only” don’t share. Not sharing a file is the safest form of privacy. If you share a file beware of what “Public on the Web” or “Anyone with a link” means. When a file is public anyone in the world can search and find it. A file shared to anyone is open to the public too! The difference is the second method should not be searchable by search engine web crawlers. Now to learn about the some hidden share feature for securing your drive files.

Sometimes there may be a reason to share sensitive files. Google Drive files may be locked down by taking the following precautions. A file owner may prevent editors from sharing access. The file owner has control of printing, downloading, and copying. My favorite safety feature is “Set an Expiration Date.” Unfortunately for private users, the expiration feature appears only in G Suite Accounts.

Following are directions for using the above mentioned Google Drive safety features.

Prevent Editors from Sharing

  • Check Prevent Editors from Sharing
  • Click Blue Done Button

Stop Commenters & Viewers from Printing, Copying & Downloading

  • Open Google DriveDocsSheets, or Slides
  • Click File to Highlight
  • Click Share
  • Click Advance
  • Check Disable Options to Download, Print and Copy for Commenter and Viewers
  • Click Blue Done Button

Set File Expiration Date

As an Educator I found this setting useful when sharing files with a long term substitute. When the school year ended the files magically disappeared from the substitutes Google Drive. I believe this is one of those worthwhile timesaving tips.

Note this Google Drive Files
Feature ONLY WORKS with G Suite Accounts

  • Open Google DriveDocsSheets, or Slides
  • Click File to Highlight
  • Click Share
  • Click Advanced
  • Hover over the person’s name, click Set expiration
  • Set the Date
  • Click Save Changes
  • Click Blue Done Button

Delete Public Shared with Me File…

Not sure how to delete a publicly shared file from the Google Drive “Shared with Me” section? Don’t fret just follow the below steps to remove the file from the shared with me section of Google Drive.

NOTE: The file will still be accessible to the owner.

Quick Access Turn It On In Google Drive

In Google Drive, there is a setting called Quick Access. This setting provides quick access to frequently used files. It is one of those personal timesaving features. Thanks to quick access teachers and students will have up to four regularly used files right under their fingertips.

Power of G Suite Share Settings…

It seems “Share Settings” is one of those misunderstood tools embedded into G Suite APPS. “Share Settings” may become a powerful tool to use. It is up to the user to follow some simple best practice for sharing files and folders for maintaining the utmost privacy in the realm of education. The Google for Education Team supports “Privacy and Security” within the tools they provide for educators and students to use.

Maintaining both FERPA and COPPA compliance is dependent on how “Share Settings” are used. Below you will find instructions for helping you to understand how to use Google Products share settings.

Share Settings Basics

If you are sharing a file or folder it is important to understand what the following three settings mean:

Share Settings what do they mean_ (2)

Collaboration Share Settings

Collaboration Share Settings

Share Settings More Controls

Share Settings More Controls

 

Yes! You Can Receive Notifications…

There I was reading through posts in a Google Classroom Community when my eye’s fell upon this question. “Can notifications be received when changes occur in my Google Drive?” The answer is yes! Google Drive notifications may be received when there are newly shared items, comments, suggestions, action items or request for access. The user has the choice to receive the notifications as a popup window or in an email. If you would like to setup notifications for Google Drive please follow these steps:

  1. Open Google Drive
  2. In the top right corner, click Settings Cogwheel
  3. Select Settings
  4. Click Notifications
  5. Check or uncheck boxes for the settings of choice

Set Google Drive Notifications.gif

Using notifications is just one simple “Timesaving Tool” offered within this suite of education tools. Efficiency is just one simple beneficial support offered by the G Suite for Education package.