Organizing Shared with Me, Know the Basics…

Yesterday I explained the purpose of using the shared with me bin in Google Drive. Today I’m going to show you how easy it is to organize the shared with me section of Google Drive. Please check out the following short video to learn how simple it is to do.

Why “Shared with Me”???

I think one of the most misunderstood sections of Google Drive is the “Shared with Me” bin. Many people don’t understand why there is a shared with me bin in Google Drive. The shared with me section of the drive is where either public or shared with you files and folders are stored. Its function is to keep the shared files and folders separate from your private area (my drive) of Google Drive. It is up to the individual user if they want to add a “shared with me” file or folder shortcut to my drive section of Google Drive.

It is not unusual to hear Google Drive users say, “How do I organize the folders & files in the Shared with Me bin? The answer is simple the organizational ability is limited. Your choices for organizing the “Shared with Me” section is one of the following:

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Clicking on a Google Drive folder or file embedded on a website or blog is automatically stored in the “Shared with Me” bin of Google Drive. The reason this happens is to allow you to view the public file. Think about what it would be like to request access every time you found an embedded file or folder.

Which “Share Settings Do I Use???”

Due to my volunteer work as a Product Expert in the Google Help communities, I notice many users are confused about the levels of share settings.   Today I’m going to focus on the “Share Settings” found in Google Drive and its Docs Editors (Docs, Slides, Sheets, Forms, and Drawings).   Following is a list of the share setting terms and how they may help the user maintain privacy.

  1. Private – Only you can access
    • Nobody but you may view, edit, copy or share.
  2. Specific People – Ability to share a file or folder with another user.
    • You choose who and add the user to the file or folder.
  3. On: Anyone with Link – Any user with the web link may access.  
    • It is a public link that allows any user to see or share the file or folder.
    • The weblink prevents web spiders from finding the link in search results.
    • Embedding the link on a website or social media posts may make it searchable via a search engine.
  4. Public on the Web – The file or folder may be accessed anywhere on the web. 
    • The file or folder’s web link is easily categorized by the search engines.

Note: 

A  G Suite account offers an extra layer of sharing.  

The extra share settings are as follows:

  • On Domain Name – Any domain user who has the web link may access the file.
  • Anyone at Domain Name with the link – All users of a domain may use a Google Drive filter search to find and access the file or folder.

The above listing provides a basic selection of share settings Google Accounts offer.  Below I have provided an image tutorial you may print or use as part of an instruction tutorial. Keep an eye open for my next post where I will discuss more advanced share setting offered by Google Drive and its Docs Editors.

Power of G Suite Share Settings…

It seems “Share Settings” is one of those misunderstood tools embedded into G Suite APPS. “Share Settings” may become a powerful tool to use. It is up to the user to follow some simple best practice for sharing files and folders for maintaining the utmost privacy in the realm of education. The Google for Education Team supports “Privacy and Security” within the tools they provide for educators and students to use.

Maintaining both FERPA and COPPA compliance is dependent on how “Share Settings” are used. Below you will find instructions for helping you to understand how to use Google Products share settings.

Share Settings Basics

If you are sharing a file or folder it is important to understand what the following three settings mean:

Share Settings what do they mean_ (2)

Collaboration Share Settings

Collaboration Share Settings

Share Settings More Controls

Share Settings More Controls

 

Yes! You Can Receive Notifications…

There I was reading through posts in a Google Classroom Community when my eye’s fell upon this question. “Can notifications be received when changes occur in my Google Drive?” The answer is yes! Google Drive notifications may be received when there are newly shared items, comments, suggestions, action items or request for access. The user has the choice to receive the notifications as a popup window or in an email. If you would like to setup notifications for Google Drive please follow these steps:

  1. Open Google Drive
  2. In the top right corner, click Settings Cogwheel
  3. Select Settings
  4. Click Notifications
  5. Check or uncheck boxes for the settings of choice

Set Google Drive Notifications.gif

Using notifications is just one simple “Timesaving Tool” offered within this suite of education tools. Efficiency is just one simple beneficial support offered by the G Suite for Education package.