What No Special Voice to Text Tool?

Due to neuromuscular spine issues, my fingers sometimes do their own thing when typing on a Google Slide. I find using voice to text instead to be a valuable support. One challenge I have is a Google Slide’s voice to text tool is limited to the speaker notes section. Despite this limitation, it is still possible to use voice typing for designing the canvas area of a slide. 

One popular method is to use voice typing in the notes section. Then to copy and paste the notes section text onto the Google Slide canvas. If a person has a small motor or cognitive challenges, copying and pasting may be frustrating. Instead, I like to use my smartphone or a tablet device to voice type into a text box on Google Slides. 

Quite a few mobile devices come with a voice to text capability. If you need to install an APP for voice to text, try  GBoard by Google keyboard.  Note you may also need to install the Google Slide APP onto the mobile device. It is handy that more than one device may use the Google Slide from one account. I find it helpful to talk into the phone or tablet and watch the type appear on a bigger screen. Doing this makes it easier visually to check grammar or spelling errors on a bigger screen. Using voice to text for typing may unlock doors for many different people from young to old.

Organizing Shared with Me, Know the Basics…

Yesterday I explained the purpose of using the shared with me bin in Google Drive. Today I’m going to show you how easy it is to organize the shared with me section of Google Drive. Please check out the following short video to learn how simple it is to do.

Why “Shared with Me”???

I think one of the most misunderstood sections of Google Drive is the “Shared with Me” bin. Many people don’t understand why there is a shared with me bin in Google Drive. The shared with me section of the drive is where either public or shared with you files and folders are stored. Its function is to keep the shared files and folders separate from your private area (my drive) of Google Drive. It is up to the individual user if they want to add a “shared with me” file or folder shortcut to my drive section of Google Drive.

It is not unusual to hear Google Drive users say, “How do I organize the folders & files in the Shared with Me bin? The answer is simple the organizational ability is limited. Your choices for organizing the “Shared with Me” section is one of the following:

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Clicking on a Google Drive folder or file embedded on a website or blog is automatically stored in the “Shared with Me” bin of Google Drive. The reason this happens is to allow you to view the public file. Think about what it would be like to request access every time you found an embedded file or folder.

Which “Share Settings Do I Use???”

Due to my volunteer work as a Product Expert in the Google Help communities, I notice many users are confused about the levels of share settings.   Today I’m going to focus on the “Share Settings” found in Google Drive and its Docs Editors (Docs, Slides, Sheets, Forms, and Drawings).   Following is a list of the share setting terms and how they may help the user maintain privacy.

  1. Private – Only you can access
    • Nobody but you may view, edit, copy or share.
  2. Specific People – Ability to share a file or folder with another user.
    • You choose who and add the user to the file or folder.
  3. On: Anyone with Link – Any user with the web link may access.  
    • It is a public link that allows any user to see or share the file or folder.
    • The weblink prevents web spiders from finding the link in search results.
    • Embedding the link on a website or social media posts may make it searchable via a search engine.
  4. Public on the Web – The file or folder may be accessed anywhere on the web. 
    • The file or folder’s web link is easily categorized by the search engines.

Note: 

A  G Suite account offers an extra layer of sharing.  

The extra share settings are as follows:

  • On Domain Name – Any domain user who has the web link may access the file.
  • Anyone at Domain Name with the link – All users of a domain may use a Google Drive filter search to find and access the file or folder.

The above listing provides a basic selection of share settings Google Accounts offer.  Below I have provided an image tutorial you may print or use as part of an instruction tutorial. Keep an eye open for my next post where I will discuss more advanced share setting offered by Google Drive and its Docs Editors.

Delete Public Shared with Me File…

Not sure how to delete a publicly shared file from the Google Drive “Shared with Me” section? Don’t fret just follow the below steps to remove the file from the shared with me section of Google Drive.

NOTE: The file will still be accessible to the owner.