Remove Students from Google Classroom

In the beginning of a semester in middle school and high school it isn’t unusual for students schedules to be adjusted. This means students may be enrolled in a class one day and the next week leave to join a different course. If the teacher is using Google Classroom this means removing the student from the course roster. This is a simple task which only takes seconds to do. It will also prevent inundating the student’s email with Google Classroom Notifications from your course.

Below are the steps for removing a student from a Google Classroom Course Roster.

  1. Sign into Google Classroom
  2. Click Student Tab
  3. Check Student to be removed
  4. Click Actions Drop Down Arrow
  5. Select Remove
  6. Popup Window Opens
    • Click Remove

Advertisements

Setting Classroom Comments in Google Classroom

Google Classroom offers a variety of settings when it comes to students posting, and commenting in the classroom stream. One purpose of the stream is for nurturing good digital citizenship while allowing the students to collaborate and support one another during classroom lessons or projects. There may be times when a teacher would like to limit comments about activities or projects in the Google Classroom Stream.
The Teacher can set Posts or Comments for Students by going to Classroom.google.com to make these changes.
  1. Click the class you want to set permissions for.

Google Classroom step 1.jpg

  • Click Students.

click students

  • Click the dropdown arrow by Only teacher can post or comment
    • Select the permission level:
      • Students can post and comment
        • Students can share a message in the class stream or comment on any item.
      • Students can comment only
        • Students can comment, and message sharing isn’t allowed.
      • Only teacher can post or comment
        • Students can’t comment or share in the class stream (same as muting all students).

choose one