Easy Tips for Turning Off Google Forms Assessment

Recently a teacher came to the Google Docs Help Forums to learn how to turn Google Forms Assessments off. The teacher was afraid students would copy the Assessment’s URL to share with friends. I was glad when Lance a Google Doc’s Product Expert friend reached out to me for help. The teacher learned two simple steps for maintaining assessment confidentiality.

First Make a Copy of Testing Template

  1. Open the Google Forms Assessment
  2. Click More Settings (3 Vertical Dots)
  3. Select “Make a Copy”

BENEFITS:

  • Making a Copy allows the user to make a blank question bank template to be used for future assessments.
  • Allows teachers to easily share individual forms with each class.
    • Copies provide more control for turning an assessment on & off.
      • Teacher has a choice of turning off one class or all

Turn Forms Assessment On & Off

  1. Open the Google Forms Assessment
  2. Click Responses Tab
  3. Toggle “Accepting Responses” to Left for OFF
  4. Toggle “Accepting Responses” to Right to Turn ON

BENEFITS:

  • Teacher may turn Forms Assessment Off after Assessment is Completed
  • If Student was absent teacher may turn the assessment on.
  • Provides control for collecting deadline information
Advertisements

Unenroll from Google Classroom Course…

frustrated (1)

Well it’s that time of the year and the course you were enrolled in just ended. You just enrolled in new courses and are overwhelmed with all the course tiles on the Google Classroom page. No sweat! All you have to do is unenroll from the Google Classroom Course. So now you are afraid of losing all the work submitted for the course. Still not a problem because Google Classroom creates a folder in your Google Drive to house all the course assignments. The steps to delete the course tile from the Google Classroom listing is really easy to follow once the semester ends.

Unenroll from Google Classroom Course

  • Go to classroom.google.com.
  • On the class card, click More (3 vertical dots) select Unenroll.
  • In pop-out window, click Unenroll.

G-Class Unenroll.gif

Remove Students from Google Classroom

In the beginning of a semester in middle school and high school it isn’t unusual for students schedules to be adjusted. This means students may be enrolled in a class one day and the next week leave to join a different course. If the teacher is using Google Classroom this means removing the student from the course roster. This is a simple task which only takes seconds to do. It will also prevent inundating the student’s email with Google Classroom Notifications from your course.

Below are the steps for removing a student from a Google Classroom Course Roster.

  1. Sign into Google Classroom
  2. Click Student Tab
  3. Check Student to be removed
  4. Click Actions Drop Down Arrow
  5. Select Remove
  6. Popup Window Opens
    • Click Remove

Setting Classroom Comments in Google Classroom

Google Classroom offers a variety of settings when it comes to students posting, and commenting in the classroom stream. One purpose of the stream is for nurturing good digital citizenship while allowing the students to collaborate and support one another during classroom lessons or projects. There may be times when a teacher would like to limit comments about activities or projects in the Google Classroom Stream.
The Teacher can set Posts or Comments for Students by going to Classroom.google.com to make these changes.
  1. Click the class you want to set permissions for.

Google Classroom step 1.jpg

  • Click Students.

click students

  • Click the dropdown arrow by Only teacher can post or comment
    • Select the permission level:
      • Students can post and comment
        • Students can share a message in the class stream or comment on any item.
      • Students can comment only
        • Students can comment, and message sharing isn’t allowed.
      • Only teacher can post or comment
        • Students can’t comment or share in the class stream (same as muting all students).

choose one