Organizing Shared with Me, Know the Basics…

Yesterday I explained the purpose of using the shared with me bin in Google Drive. Today I’m going to show you how easy it is to organize the shared with me section of Google Drive. Please check out the following short video to learn how simple it is to do.

Why “Shared with Me”???

I think one of the most misunderstood sections of Google Drive is the “Shared with Me” bin. Many people don’t understand why there is a shared with me bin in Google Drive. The shared with me section of the drive is where either public or shared with you files and folders are stored. Its function is to keep the shared files and folders separate from your private area (my drive) of Google Drive. It is up to the individual user if they want to add a “shared with me” file or folder shortcut to my drive section of Google Drive.

It is not unusual to hear Google Drive users say, “How do I organize the folders & files in the Shared with Me bin? The answer is simple the organizational ability is limited. Your choices for organizing the “Shared with Me” section is one of the following:

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Clicking on a Google Drive folder or file embedded on a website or blog is automatically stored in the “Shared with Me” bin of Google Drive. The reason this happens is to allow you to view the public file. Think about what it would be like to request access every time you found an embedded file or folder.

Privacy Is Up to You!!!

Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

“Is my Google Drive Private?” The very first file added to drive is the most secure until the sharing starts. What users may need to learn is maintaining the files’ privacy is totally up to them. The first place to start is by familiarizing oneself with the most basic of share settings. Please see my last post for refreshing your knowledge of basic share settings. The best way to secure your Google Drive files and folders is by combining the basics with the following advanced share settings.

Some of the features provided by the advanced settings are the ability to stop other users from re-sharing and printing a file. Another tool offered in Google Drive is the control to set time limits on sharing both folders and files. What does this all mean? Using advanced share tools help prevent sensitive material from being shared with the public. Please see my post: “CONTROL YOUR GOOGLE DRIVE FILES PRIVACY SHARE SETTINGS…” to learn how to use the advanced share setting features.

Think of the My Drive Section of Google Drive as your private area where you are in absolute control of the sharing. The Shared with Me area of Google Drive is a working area where files are shared by another user. Shared with Me portion of Google Drive is not considered as a portion of your storage area. It is a place where you may access and use files and folders shared with you. Generally, I recommend ignoring this area of the drive. Do note it is possible to remove files and folders from this section as well. The bottom line it is up to the user to maintain and keep Google Drive secure and private.

Which “Share Settings Do I Use???”

Due to my volunteer work as a Product Expert in the Google Help communities, I notice many users are confused about the levels of share settings.   Today I’m going to focus on the “Share Settings” found in Google Drive and its Docs Editors (Docs, Slides, Sheets, Forms, and Drawings).   Following is a list of the share setting terms and how they may help the user maintain privacy.

  1. Private – Only you can access
    • Nobody but you may view, edit, copy or share.
  2. Specific People – Ability to share a file or folder with another user.
    • You choose who and add the user to the file or folder.
  3. On: Anyone with Link – Any user with the web link may access.  
    • It is a public link that allows any user to see or share the file or folder.
    • The weblink prevents web spiders from finding the link in search results.
    • Embedding the link on a website or social media posts may make it searchable via a search engine.
  4. Public on the Web – The file or folder may be accessed anywhere on the web. 
    • The file or folder’s web link is easily categorized by the search engines.

Note: 

A  G Suite account offers an extra layer of sharing.  

The extra share settings are as follows:

  • On Domain Name – Any domain user who has the web link may access the file.
  • Anyone at Domain Name with the link – All users of a domain may use a Google Drive filter search to find and access the file or folder.

The above listing provides a basic selection of share settings Google Accounts offer.  Below I have provided an image tutorial you may print or use as part of an instruction tutorial. Keep an eye open for my next post where I will discuss more advanced share setting offered by Google Drive and its Docs Editors.

Don’t Want to See Google Drive Quick Access? Just Turn It OFF!

In the Google Drive help forum, I noticed a question which asked about turning off Google Drive Quick Access View. What quick access view does is provides a row of the latest edited files. The row sits at the top of the drive. Its purpose is to provide an easy way to find those files a user edits last edited.

How to Turn Off Quick Access