Organizing Shared with Me, Know the Basics…

Yesterday I explained the purpose of using the shared with me bin in Google Drive. Today I’m going to show you how easy it is to organize the shared with me section of Google Drive. Please check out the following short video to learn how simple it is to do.

Why “Shared with Me”???

I think one of the most misunderstood sections of Google Drive is the “Shared with Me” bin. Many people don’t understand why there is a shared with me bin in Google Drive. The shared with me section of the drive is where either public or shared with you files and folders are stored. Its function is to keep the shared files and folders separate from your private area (my drive) of Google Drive. It is up to the individual user if they want to add a “shared with me” file or folder shortcut to my drive section of Google Drive.

It is not unusual to hear Google Drive users say, “How do I organize the folders & files in the Shared with Me bin? The answer is simple the organizational ability is limited. Your choices for organizing the “Shared with Me” section is one of the following:

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Clicking on a Google Drive folder or file embedded on a website or blog is automatically stored in the “Shared with Me” bin of Google Drive. The reason this happens is to allow you to view the public file. Think about what it would be like to request access every time you found an embedded file or folder.